Snapchat Groups: Here’s how to use the new group chat function

Snapchat Groups: Here's how to use the new group chat function

Snapchat Groups: Here’s how to use the new group chat function

9 months after Snapchat overhauled its chat expertise, it has launched a brand new chat function: Groups.

Groups is basically a means so that you can chat in Groups. Snapchat mentioned it introduced the function simply in time for the vacations as a result of it is a “nice time to hang around with pals and spend time with household”. With Groups, you may talk with as much as 16 pals without delay in Snapchat.

Here’s everything you need to know about the new function.

What’s Snapchat?

Snapchat is a photo- and video-messaging app. It’s distinctive in that each one images and movies solely final a quick period of time earlier than they disappear ceaselessly, making the app ephemeral in nature, although you may take a screenshot of all of the snaps you obtain to avoid wasting them in image type. You can too save your individual snaps earlier than sending them to pals otherwise you story. You’ll be able to be taught extra about Snapchat from TechbyAndroid in-depth information.

What’s Snapchat Groups?

Group are lots like one-on-one chats, however they’ll embrace as much as 16 group members. Additionally, chats despatched to a group are deleted by default after 24 hours. Snaps despatched to a group may be opened and replayed simply as soon as by every recipient, however then it will be deleted after 24 hours as nicely.

How does Snapchat Groups work?

Beginning a group chat

Groups may be created whereas sending a snap, or if you’re making a brand new chat.

Merely open the Chat display screen and faucet on the New Chat icon. Then, Determine a number of pals, and faucet Chat. You’ll be able to solely add individuals to a group if you’re each pals on Snapchat. To ship snaps on to a group after taking a snap, faucet the ship button, and select a group within the Ship To display screen. Everybody within the group will be capable of see that you just despatched the snap, in addition to who’s read it.

Determine if you’re in a group chat

To find out if a chat is definitely a group chat, search for the glint/friend emoji subsequent to the group title in your Chat display screen.

Adjust group chat settings

To entry group chat settings, faucet the menu icon within the higher left hand nook.

From there, you may see who’s within the group, rename the group, mute notifications, add somebody, and even go away the group. Should you select to depart, the snaps and chats you despatched will likely be cleared, even when somebody saved them in chat.

See who’s in your group chat

When group members open the group chat, their title will gentle up inside a bubble above your keyboard to let you already know they’re current. You’ll be able to faucet on a friend’s title bubble to begin a Quick chat and even add them if you have not already.

See who’s read a chat or snap

Faucet or press and maintain on any chat to see who’s read it, saved it, and many others. When somebody opens a snap, their title will seem under it in chat. Chats and snaps will likely be deleted after 24 hours until saved. Additionally, snaps despatched to a group may be opened and replayed as soon as by every recipient.

Quick chat with a friend

Faucet any title on the backside of a group chat to begin a one-on-one chat with that individual. You’ll be able to at all times return to the group in a single swipe.